Atomic Energy of Canada Limited.—This Crown company was incorporated in February 1952 under the Atomic Energy Control Act, 1946 (R.S.C. 1952, c. 11) to take over from the National Research Council on Apr. 1, 1952 the operation of the Chalk River project. The main functions of the company are the operation of atomic reactors, research into many aspects of atomic energy and the extraction, processing and marketing of the byproducts of the reactors. The company reports to Parliament through the Chairman of the Committee of the Privy Council on Scientific and Industrial Research.

**Bank of Canada.**—Legislation of 1934 (R.S.C. 1952, c. 13) provided for the establishment of a central bank in Canada, the function of which is to regulate credit and currency, to control and protect the external value of the Canadian dollar and to stabilize the level of production, trade, prices and employment so far as may be possible within the scope of monetary action. The Bank acts as the fiscal agent of the Government of Canada. manages the public debt and has the sole right to issue notes for circulation in Canada. The Bank is managed by a Board of Directors appointed by the Government and composed of a Governor, a Deputy Governor and 12 Directors; the Deputy Minister of Finance is also a member of the Board. The Bank reports to Parliament through the Minister of Finance and is governed by its own Act of incorporation. (See footnote, p. 114.)

**Board of Grain Commissioners.**—Constituted in 1912 under the Canada Grain Act, 1912—now Canada Grain Act, 1930 (R.S.C. 1952, c. 25)—the Board of Grain Commissioners provides general supervision over grain handling in Canada, by licensing elevator operators, inspecting and weighing grain en route to and shipped from terminal elevators, and other services. The Board, comprising a Chief Commissioner and two Commissioners, has authority to inquire into any matter relating to the grading and weighing of grain, deductions for dockage or shrinkage, deterioration of any grain during storage or treatment, unfair or discriminatory operation of a grain elevator, etc. The Board publishes its regulations in the *Canada Gazette* and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

**Canadian Arsenals Limited.**—This Company was established under the Companies Act by Letters Patent dated Sept. 20, 1945 and is subject to the Government Companies Operation Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 133) and certain provisions of the Financial Administration Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 116). The Company was set up to take over and operate Crown owned plant and equipment. Among the items it now manufactures are propellants and explosives, small arms, radars and a wide range of ammunition and components.

Its Divisions, together with the location of their plants, are as follows: Dominion Arsenal Division (Quebec, Val Rose and Rivière-du-Loup, Que.); Explosives Division (Valleyfield, Que.); Filling Division (St. Paul L'Ermite, Que.); Gun Ammunition Division (Lindsay, Ont.); Small Arms Division (Long Branch, Ont.); Instrument and Radar Division (Scarborough, Ont.). The Company is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production.

**Canadian Broadcasting Corporation**.—Legislation passed in 1936 (R.S.C. 1952, c. 32) provides that there shall be a corporation, to be known as the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, to consist of a Board of 11 Governors appointed by the Governor in Council and chosen to give representation to the principal geographic divisions of Canada. The Board of Governors determines CBC policy and the Chairman of the Board is required to devote the whole of his time to the performance of his duties under the Act.

The General Manager is the Chief Executive of the Corporation and directs the operations and activities of the Corporation as well as the application of CBC policy as determined by the Board of Governors. The organization of the CBC consists of the following principal Divisions: Program, International Service, Engineering, Commercial, Press and Information, Broadcast Regulations, Station Relations, Personnel and Administration, and Treasury. Regional Directors are appointed for Newfoundland, the Maritimes, Quebec, Ontario, the Prairies and British Columbia.

The Corporation reports to a Minister of the Crown (at present the Minister of National Revenue) who is responsible for dealing with CBC operations when these are under consideration in Parliament.

**Canadian Commercial Corporation.**—This Corporation was established on May 1, 1946 by the Canadian Commercial Corporation Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 35). It purchases goods and commodities in Canada for the governments of other countries. It also acts as purchasing agent for international agencies such as the United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund and the United Nations Korean Reconstruction Agency. Other functions include arranging production and shipment of Canadian contributions of military stores to NATO countries. The Corporation also serves other departments of the Government of Canada. For instance it arranges for the purchase and production of supplies and services which the Department of Trade and Commerce is making available to other countries under the Colombo Plan. In carrying out its functions the Corporation works closely with the Department of Defence Production. It is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production.

Canadian Farm Loan Board.—The Board was organized in 1929 to make loans to farmers secured by mortgage. The Board is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Finance.

**Canadian Government Specifications Board.**—This is a co-operative body in which Government and industry participate on a voluntary basis. If was formed June 13, 1934 as the Canadian Government Purchasing Standards Committee, under the auspices of the National Research